Conspiracies, Big Brother, and Why I Switched to WordPress

Now that I’ve had time to think about it, I can justify my blog switching yet again. I may do a lot of switching, but most of the time it’s well thought out. I already sound like I’m trying to justify something. Do I feel guilty for something?

No, actually. I don’t. For those of you that don’t know, I have conspiracy theorist in my blood. I believe in Big Brother (or certain elements thereof), ponder about governmental cover ups, and fume over privatized corporations thinking they are the government. More and more I feel like while the government hides things from the masses, I’m more and more convinced that the political machine known as the United States has its head so far up its tail pipe that it can’t observe all of the people all of the time. I’m more worried about Microsoft and Google and what they could potentially do with so much personal information.

I may sound paranoid, but I’m not…yet. As far as Microsoft is concerned, I died in 2001. That’s the year I wiped all of my computers clean of the Windows operating system. I haven’t been back since and I don’t regret it. I bought an original X-Box because I read an article that Microsoft lost money on all consoles sold, choosing to make money on the games. I’ve purchased all but one of my games for a discounted clearance price. Boy, am I stickin’ it to the man. Okay, not really, but I’m not tied down to windows media and digital rights management (DRM).

With that said, those of you who know I bought an Apple Macbook are cursing me for hypocrisy. I deserve it. Apple is just as bad at Microsoft with DRM and vendor lock in, but the hardware is the best a teacher’s money can buy. Because I’m in grauate school, I got a video iPod for $50. I hear more booing. I don’t even like the iPod. I think it’s user interface is terrible and the sound is mediocre compared to other products available (see cowonamerica.com–I’ve purchased two players from them and the sound is hands down better then any iPod with the same files). However, I will say that the iPod is the best $50 player on the market. I don’t buy my music from iTunes unless I really have to have something, but then I immediately convert the songs to non-DRMed mp3s. I don’t share my music with the whole world or steal it from others, but if I paid for it, I want to do what I want with it. Isn’t that my right?

The movie and music producers say no, and thus my gripe with privatized corporations. (Some of you may be arguing that Microsoft and Apple are public companies. You’re right. But they aren’t governmental organizations, thus privatized corporations.)

Somebody please tell me what this has to do with blogging? Well, I don’t trust Google that’s why. Their motto is “Don’t be Evil”, but there is no accountability for them to maintain that standpoint. I don’t use Gmail for the same reason. I already use Google to search. If I used their webmail and their blogging software, they have a bunch of information about me on their servers that would be way too easy to profile if someone chose to. WordPress allows me spread it around, not put all of my eggs in one basket.

Finally, WordPress is open source software released under the GPL. That means they can never charge for the software itself. Take that Blogger. I’m a zealot.

Now you think I’m either psychotic or another “one of those.” But it’s all fun and games in the name of technological freedom. The truth of the matter is that WordPress allows me to have as close to a complete website as possible with minimum dollars down (uh…which is zero at this point). So that’s quite a yarn for something that doesn’t really matter in the eternal scope of the beyond-the-universe.

Leave a Reply

