Loss

I’m proud to announce that Catapult Magazine published another poem of mine: “A Breath”. I normally don’t explain my poems, but there is a gravity around the purpose and origin of this piece that needs to be told. A family I know lost a son and a brother to suicide this summer. The memorial service was very upbeat, and I was impressed by the community that came together to share memories and to support the family. I couldn’t help but reflect on my own story of loss and grieving my father’s death. I looked around at all of the people gathered at this family’s service–there were a lot of people at my dad’s funeral too–and wondered how many would be around in 3 months to continue offering support. It’s always easier when someone dies from some other family, because then we can get back to life. But for those who are at a loss and grieving, getting back to life is tragic in itself. So I wrote this poem for this family as a way of saying I remember your suffering; I’ve suffered; I still suffer. It’s easy for people to say that time heals all wounds. While the saying is true, it doesn’t help those in pain and sadness. So when there is loneliness, and pain, and maybe even a loss of conversational words, there can still be poetry and community held together by the grace of Christ.

Here’s the link to A Breath.

One thought on “Loss

  1. Congratulations on the publication.

    I’m venturing into poetry. (I’m an undergrad junior.) I lost my father recently too; he centers in a lot of my work.

    Best of luck to you.

    – Jill

Leave a Reply

