Another Year in the Rearview Mirror

This past semester hasn’t been a good use of blogging. But I’ve spent so much time preparing for my senior lit class that something had to give. So over the past few months, I’ve read and taught:
Catcher in the Rye
Grapes of Wrath
Othello
King Lear
Tale of Two Cities
Les Miserables

It’s a shame there isn’t any poetry in the senior curriculum, but I’m working on writing a good world poetry unit that will be available for download this spring.

Books that I’m adding to my reading list for the blog are:
Letters to a young poet by Rilke
God’s Silence by Franz Wright
Inside Out by LL Barkat
Saving the Appearances by Owen Barfield
Four Quartets by Eliot
Collected Poems by Wallace Stevens
Fame is Infamy by Andrew Schwab

As usual there is plenty on my plate while my cup overflows. I’m working on a long poem (5 pages qualifies as long doesn’t it?), a short story, and my ever growing collection of poems on light. So there’s gotta be time in there to blog right? Right.

Happy new year everybody. Here’s to poetry and the bridges it builds!

3 thoughts on “Another Year in the Rearview Mirror

  1. While you’re looking back in the rear-view mirror, you’re also looking up at the basement ceiling (or the living room floor) in this blog. Looking back helps one to look up and adjust one’s perspective. There must be a poem that could connect the two…

    Eagerly anticipating your long poem,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

