And On and On

I last blogged several months ago when I had my head above water with school work. Well, school’s out so I can now return to the blogosphere in full force. I have lots to write about, and am reading William Carlos Williams’ Spring & All. I’ll post thoughts as the summer progresses.

I will leave you with an anecdote about people invalidating the importance and usefulness of poetry–and I do seem to be surrounded by them lately, from family members to coworkers, to students.

I was bemoaning the absence of poetry from the senior curriculum to my seniors a month ago. I suggested we hurry through our last work so that we can squeeze in a poetry unit. The groans were deafening (not surprised by that actually). One student, a baseball player, blurted out that poetry was boring (really? That’s all you have? Boring? Good to see a senior in high school using such a well-developed vocabulary). I laughed and said that many people would say the same about baseball. He responded by saying that he played baseball, which was way more fun than watching it. Jackpot. I told him that writing poetry can be more fulfilling (and exciting) than reading it. (I know, I know. Everyone’s a poet but nobody’s a reader. I get it. But I think we can better appreciate an art form when we’ve tried it out for ourselves. Writing is only step 1).

The student sat there silently with a stupid grin on his face. And then, “Nope. I don’t know what I’d write about.” So there we have it. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Oh well. I’m still pretty confident that the most one of the most ancient forms of writing can’t be snuffed out by laziness and entitlement. Kind of confident. Okay, maybe just plain hopeful. Here’s to doing my part.

Leave a Reply

